Your Ad Here


Rabindranath Tagore (1861 - 1941)
Field: Literature
For: Gitanjali (His collection of Poems, English version, published in 1912)
Year: 1913

  • He was first Asian to win Nobel Prize
  • He wrote our National Anthem (Later translated into English and is known as morning song of India)
  • He founded Shanti Niketan, which later became VishwaBharati University
  • He also wrote the National Anthem of Bangladesh "Amar Sonar Bangla (My Bengal of gold)".

Sir C.V. Raman (Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman) (1888 - 1970)
Field: Physics
For: "RAMAN" effect (Scattering of Light)
Year: 1930

  • He was the first Asian scientist to win the Nobel Prize.
  • He also received Bharat Ratna and Lenin Peace Prize.
  • He founded Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Dr. Hargobind Khorana (1922 - )
Field: Medicine and Physiology
For: Genetic Study
Year: 1968

  • He produced the first artificial gene in his laboratory.
  • He shared the Nobel Prize with Marshall Nuremberg and Robert Holley.

Mother Teresa (1910 - 1997)
Field: Peace
For: Exemplary Charity and Social Service
Year: 1979

  • Born in Skoplje, Yugoslavia (then Turkey)
  • Original Name: Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu
  • Founded Missionaries Of Charity in Calcutta.
  • Received Bharat Ratna Award in 1980
  • Receive Magsaysay Award in 1962.

Dr. Subramaniam Chandrasekar (1910 - 2000)
Field: Physics
For: his work on stars and their evolution (Chandrasekhar's Limit).
Year: 1983

  • The space telescope Chandra launched by NASA was named after him.
  • He also served as the Governor of Maharashtra
  • He received Bharat Ratna in 1998

Dr. Amartya Sen
Field: Economics
For: Mathematical Solution to "Arrow's Impossibility Theorem"
Year: 1998
There are some more Nobel Laureates who are related to India but are not Indians.

V.S. Naipaul, Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul (1932- )
[British writer of Indian origin]
Field: Literature
Year: 2001

Rajendra K. Pachauri (1940 - )
For: Peace and Environment Conservation
Year: 2007

  • He accepted the prize on behalf of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) as he was the chairman.
  • He shared the award with Al Gore, Vice President of USA


Related Posts with Thumbnails