Your Ad Here


• Rajasthan Royals’ Shane Watson emerged the Man of the Series with his all round performance — 472 runs and 17 wickets from 15 matches.

• Kings XI Punjab’s Shaun Marsh was named the Batman of the Series for his run aggregate of 616 runs from 11 matches. He scored five fifties – one hundred and five half centuries – a record for most fifties in the tournament and earned the Man of the Match award on five occasions – another record for most Man of the Match awards.

• Rajasthan Royals’ Sohail Tanvir was named the Bowler of the Series for his 22 wickets aggregate from 11 games which included the best bowling figures of the tournament - 6 for 14

• The Fairplay award went to Chennai Super Kings, while the most successful India under-19 player award was bagged by Bangalore Royal Challengers’ Srivats Goswami.

• Marsh {616}, Delhi Daredevils’ Gautam Gambhir {534} and Mumbai Indians’ Sanath Jayasuriya {514} were the three batsmen who aggregated 500 plus runs in the tournament.

• Gambhir with 68 fours holds the record for hitting the most fours in the tournament. Marsh {59}, Jayasuriya {57}, Rajasthan Royal’s Graeme Smith {54} and Deccan Chargers’ Adam Gilchrist {51} are the others at the top of the chart.an

• Marsh {six scors of 50-plus} and Gambhir {five 50s} are the only batsmen who made five or more half-centuries in the tournament. Marsh’s six fifties included a hundred.

• Tanvir captured the most wickets – 22 – in the tournament and was the only bowler to capture more than 20 wickets.

• Chennai Super Kings’ Suresh Raina took the most catches in the tournament – 10 from 16 matches. He is the only fielder (excluding wicket-keepers) to take 10 or more catches in the tournament.

• Mumbai Indians’ Sachin Tendulkar held the most catches in an innings in the tournament. He took four catches against Kolkata Knight Riders in Mumbai on May 16.

• Among the wicket-keepers, Mumbai Indias’ YV Takawale had the most dismissals – 11 – in the tournament. He took 10 catches and made one stumping in seven matches. He also holds the record for most dismissals in a match – four (three catches and a stumping against Rajasthan Royals in Mumbai on May 7). Rajasthan Royals’ Kamran Akmal made the most stumpings in the tournament – four.

• Chennai Super Kings’ Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rajasthan Royals’ Shane Warne held the records for the most runs and the most wickets respectively as captains. Dhoni aggregated 414 runs from 16 matches and Warne had a tally of 19 wickets from 15 matches.

Batting records from IPL Season 2008

     Here are some other highlights and batting records from the inaugural edition.

  1. 158* Brendon McCullum, Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore. Bangalore, April 18
  2. 117* Andrew Symonds, Deccan Chargers vs Rajasthan Royals, Hyderabad, April 24
  3. 116* Mike Hussey, Chennai Super Kiungs vs Kings XI Punjab, Mohali, April 19
  4. 115 Shaun Marsh, Kings XI Punjab vs Jaipur, Mohali May 28
  5. .
  6. 114* Sanath Jayasuriya, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super King, Mumbai May 14
  7. 109* Adam Gilchrist, Deccan Chargers vs Mumbai Indians, Mumbai (DYP), April 27
  8. Top-scores for other teams:
  9. 94 Virender Sehwag, Delhi Daredevils vs Deccan Chargers, Hyderabad, April 19 


Related Posts with Thumbnails